Considering E-mail

I check my email a lot. The first time someone observed this was my freshman year of college. Annie gave me a hard time about checking it so often and I replied, “Well you never know when you’ll get the email that will change your life!”

Excuse aside, I think I checked incessantly for two reasons: 1) It was my first time using the internet without dial-up, and 2) I was deathly afraid I would miss an important email from a professor or potential new friend.

My first email was a Hotmail account. Then when I went to college I had my Hotmail account and a stolaf.edu account operated by Squirrel Mail (FTW!). Sometime in college I got gmail, my junior year I believe. I still regret that I just didn’t go for my full first name @gmail.com vs. my first name and last initial. Oh well, life lesson. Then work, then grad school, then a plethora of work email addresses. My Hotmail account is active, but that is for the sole purpose of collecting junk mail, creating multiple accounts for one website, etc. I check it once every few months. And by check, I mean I click “check all” and then “delete all.” I could go on and on about my love affair with email, but that can be for another day. I started this post because I wrote an email unlike any other email I had written in quite a while.

In one of my more recent part-time jobs I had a work email account. It was mostly a formality. I never really used it. My supervisor sent almost everything to my personal account, and I didn’t need to communicate with very many people in the organization. In fact, I don’t know if I could even recite said email address if you requested it. I never even changed the generic password they gave me.

Today, from that email address, I quit that job. I realized while writing that email I hadn’t had to write a “bad news” email in quite some time. That actually made me happy. I remember delicately wording emails so no one’s feelings were hurt, the message was not laced with sentences that would go misconstrued and cause drama confusion. I haven’t had to email back and forth with a parent about their child’s lack of hygiene or social skills. I haven’t had to email an entire staff trying to communicate necessary directions for all-school activities.

I thought about what I wanted to write and I wrote it. I didn’t really think about it twice. And because there was no second-guessing and my heart didn’t even pound when I clicked “send”, I know it was the right choice. You see, most of the time emails where I’m bearing bad news or trying to approach a conflict result in that nervous feeling you get before you do anything you are not looking forward to. I was  looking forward to being done with this job, and while I do feel bad about it on a personal level, professionally I cannot say I feel badly at all. I kept it concise and clear, what all good bad-news emails should be. Now, have I checked that work account since I sent it? Heck no! I have a phobia of reading people’s responses to my emails that ask questions, give bad news, or are (just maybe) a little bit negative. I have always been this way, and, no, I don’t need to see anyone about it.

Without going into the details, some of you (likely around  of you) might be wondering, “Hey, if this blog is mostly about being underemployed and you complaining about being underemployed then why the hell did you quite one of your jobs, you ungrateful baby!?”

Without being defensive, here is my defense. When I accepted this job it was branded as a 20 hour a week job with the potential to be up to 30 hours a week. Since November, I have probably worked 30 hours in total. It is an event-based job and the events get cancelled a lot. They get cancelled without me knowing and then asking the day before, “Hey, can I get the schedule?”

Then, “Oh…that got cancelled.”

Great.

I have a steady part-time job that I requested many dates off from because there were scheduled events at this other job. So when they bail and don’t let me know, I’ve missed out on any opportunity to work that day/night. Frustrating.

Let me keep rationalizing just a little bit more. The pay was horrible, so bad that a couple times before I lobbied to get my mileage to count, I was nearly losing money after gas, tolls, parking, etc.

So, time to re-focus on my current job, freelancing, and pursuing some other connections and opportunities that are presenting themselves. Looking forward to what is next, even though I have no clue what awaits!

 

One thought on “Considering E-mail

  1. I remember hearing from some college kids (who worked for me at my old job) that they wake up & check FB first, not their emails. I feel young now because I wake up and check Twitter & Instagram and usually don’t get around to me emails until later in the day. Emails are almost never fun. The best news comes in the form of a text, a tweet or a picture. ☺️

Leave a Reply

