Married and still underemployed

It has been a while — let’s just get that out of the way. Every time I have started blogging I come to this time. The time where I, for some reason, decide to post again. Typically these revivals are short-lived. Whether this one will wither away or flourish is still to be determined. Maybe the start of 2014 will sway me one way or the other?

I will fail. That is my prediction. This blog will die (yet again), and I will fondly think of it every couple of months when I have a funny story I’d like to post to my imaginary cyber posse or when I check something out of the library and I think of the afternoon I spent watching Grey Gardens.

While I am deciding between this blog’s life or death, I will conclude with the following:

1) This summer I was overemployed, it was fun (read: I liked the people). Many stories from this experience are potential material.  It made me appreciate my underemployment…

2) …Until October, where I once again entered period of serious self-doubt and lack of confidence that I will ever have a retirement fund again.

3) I got married to a pretty cool guy. Around 4:30 p.m. today I bought him a computer video game. (Is computer video game redundant?) He is always wanting to spend time with me, and I literally just begged him to play said game. He is thinking of starting an anonymous Twitter account to post the weird things I do and crazy things I say. Putting my modesty aside, I think it’d go viral.

Monshizadeh_155

4) I think my last post came before I saw a lady drop trou on a main drag in OP and unload on someone’s bumper. (Yes, THAT kind of unload.) It was hilarious, disturbing, and left me speechless. Stay tuned…

Happy New Year.

6 thoughts on “Married and still underemployed

  1. Jill Findley says:

    You haven’t found a job in the Chicago school system? I assumed (I know what that makes me) you had. Well, lady, you were/are an AWESOME guidance counselor and as soon as a school system gives you a chance, they will see that. Good luck to you in 2014!

    1. Thanks Jill! It has been a tough go to find full-time stuff. A combo of things, including most IL elementary and middle schools don’t have guidance counselors, have just not worked out in my favor so far. I’m staying hopeful and working in a shop and for a non-profit. Go figure?!

  2. Jackie says:

    Tremaine,
    You are so amazingly qualified to be a superstar in your field!! As an older friend who had the perfect job and loved it, then moved across the country thinking that kind of job still existed, it never does, but what you are doing now matters 🙂 Just hold onto that and you will be fine.

Leave a Reply

