Groceries.

Another part of underemployed life that I am getting used to, yet still find quite troubling from time to time, is grocery shopping in the middle of the day…in the middle of the week. On one hand, it is great! There are no lines, you can park close, fresh pickin’ of the produce, and a more stroll-like pace vs. a poppin’-wheelies-on-the-carts, get-me-out-of-here-now pace. On the other hand it is depressing! My co-customers are stay-at-home moms and the elderly. Not that these people are not wonderful shopping companions, because they are! But it makes me dwell even more on the fact that what most people my age and with my education are doing on a Tuesday at 11 a.m. is working, not picking out ripe avocados. So I’ve struck a balance…I think. I do larger grocery runs mid-week. When I need that occasional mid-week item that I didn’t plan up I tend to go during peak hours, 4-7. This way I get my rush of “Hey people, I was working today too and am so busy I must literally run through the aisles! And now I’m going to stand in line annoyed that the old lady (who should have done her shopping during the elderly hours of 10-2) decides to write a check!” It’s all about balance.

Confession: I just had to google “aisle vs isle” to make sure I was using the correct version.

I haven’t been to the library in a good week.5, so this afternoon before headed to my marathon 3.5 hour shift I’m going to scope out some new material. Top of my list is some good chick-lit to read on the flight to/from Kansas City for our holiday travels. And between the flying, presents, eating, and then company after Christmas it might just be a while. Because, after all, underemployment, while filled with nothingness and loneliness is sure darn busy.

Merry Christmas – Peace and Joy to you and your families.

Favorite deal I found this week:

Ritz and Whisky, an obvious pair?
Ritz and Whisky, an obvious pair?
One thought on “Groceries.

Leave a Reply

